Canalblog
Editer l'article Suivre ce blog Administration + Créer mon blog
Publicité
L'Anglaise
Derniers commentaires
Archives
11 novembre 2008

THE AUTUMN LEAVES

Even though the colour of the trees is beautiful at this time of year and there's a certain wild lovliness in the windswept countryside, I don't like the Autumn with its taste of a long, cold Winter to come. Rain, wind, huge amounts of energy expended just to keep warm, cold, empty houses, everything dying and time marching inexorably on. Waking up in the dark, coming home in the dark, I miss those times of the open fire and everyone around toasting marshmallows...did we ever do that or am I remembering a fantasy, an idyllic state that never existed? Maybe.

Now it seems that everyone has gone to ground, as I walk home in the dark on a Friday night on the way back from my weigh-in, I feel a bit abandoned, after that first flourish of support for my Weight Watchers quest, I seem to be stuggling with it on my own - I guess everyone has their own struggles though.

And of course there's Christmas. Ah, Christmas, a time for families to get together, log fires, mistletoe, rosy cheeked children, never ending tables loaded with goodies, everyone together, every0ne happy...only it doesn't work like that does it - separation, isolation, cuckoos in the nest, split and reconstitued families doing their best to keep the spirit alive when really the sight of toys in the shops, decorations on the houses, Christmas cards and tinsel just makes them want to cry. And melancholy settles behind the bright smiles that they show the world.

So roll on Spring when everything will come back to life and we can feel the sun on our skin and our spirits rise like sap. In the meantime, musn't grumble, eh?


Discover Nat King Cole!

Publicité
Commentaires
L
Baby sis: we did too toast marshmallows! I've got a photo of your son and heir doing just that round my fire in Nimes the Christmas after Dad died, so there!!!
Répondre
B
Bring on Christmas! All of us together. Lovely lovely lovely. Can't wait. Rose can be the fairy on the tree - she is so beautiful. xxxxxxxxxxxxxx
Répondre
F
normandie nous voilà!!!<br /> on devrait être là pour noël<br /> bisous
Répondre
B
Well I suspect that if you ever find yourself in a crash you,(and the rest of us) will think that it was. Anyway - just think of all the money you have saved on the marshmallows! x
Répondre
L
Baby sis: I can always count on you for a sympathetic ear ;-)) How about adding £240 I paid this morning to Peugeot to have my air bags fixed so I won't kill myself! Was it worth it I ask myself?
Répondre
L'Anglaise
Publicité
Publicité