Canalblog
Editer l'article Suivre ce blog Administration + Créer mon blog
Publicité
L'Anglaise
Derniers commentaires
Archives
26 octobre 2008

IF IT'S GOOD ENOUGH FOR TRACEY EMIN...

When baby sis moved she didn't have room in her new house for her bed...and no wonder! the thing is a monstrosity. Six feet wide and a massive great brass bedsted, black and gold complete with gold knobs! So she asked me if I'd like it as I have a very big bedroom that can accommodate it and my bed was getting old and saggy. I foolishly said yes.

On Friday, I waited with trepidation for baby sis and lolly to arrive with Gobi (as in the Gobi Desert) and while I waited I dragged my beloved bed outside and abandoned her in the front garden with a notice stuck to her poor, sagging mattress letting everyone know that she was waiting to be collected by the Council and taken to the dump, sob. 

Gobi arrived and was duly set up and adorned with her bright, shiny new bed linen that I'd scoured the shops and internet for all week -try to find linen for a superking sized bed- and I must admit she looked very impressive.

That evening, tired and sleepy, I looked forward to spending my first night in my new bed and duly crawled under my new goose feather and down, 7' duvet ...and there, disaster! the matress is a hard as a bullet! it's like sleeping on an armoured tank! At 1am, exhausted, cross and unable to get comfortable, I got up and went to sleep on my sofa. Tossing and turning, I was THIS close to going outside and dragging my old mattress back in, I dreamt of sinking down into its sagging middle like a baby being wrapped in its mother's loving arms and rehersed exactly what I was going to say to baby sis next time I saw her...grrrr

However, always practical, at 6am I decided to go to the shed and get out two heavy double duvets to put under my sheet (just like baby sis it has to be said in passing!) I stripped the bed -no easy task, believe me- put the duvets under the sheet, made it all back up again and crawled in. And there...aaaah, bliss.

Last night I had the best sleep I've had in ages. At least I'm going to have no problem next time the family comes to stay, no more blow-up mattresses on the floor, the bed is big enough for a family of four and there's no chance of anyone getting frost bite! And so, ladies and gentlemen, I give you....Gobi, ta da.

P1010037P1010038P1010039P1010055P1010041P1010051

Publicité
Commentaires
N
désolée fils indigne, je ne peux me résoudre à cela, tu me dois le respect, point ;)))
Répondre
L
Baby sis: Ooooo, you are SO full of BS! ;-D
Répondre
F
toujours écouter les plus jeunes que soi!!!prends en de la graine cesc!!!
Répondre
B
You see, that's the trouble with Big Sisters. They think they are right all the time. Ok, I'll grant you, in your case, your are right 99% of the time. But just this once when I said put two duvets under the sheet, I meant PUT TWO DUVETS UNDER THE SHEET!! Got it? Good. Are you listening? Hello? Hello? Nope. She's asleep. Never mind. I'll gloat later. xxx
Répondre
L'Anglaise
Publicité
Publicité